Home

Back to Article List
WESTCHESTER COUNTY PROPOSED BUDGET CUTS GREENBURGH NATURE CENTER FUNDS BY 100%
Release Date: November 21, 2015

The Greenburgh Nature Center is asking Greenburgh residents to encourage the Board of Legislators to restore funds for the Nature Center. The County Executive has recommended a 100% cut in county funding to the nature center.  I hope you will help!  The following was written by the nature center.
PAUL FEINER
For 40 years, Greenburgh Nature Center has been a leader in environmental education. 
Our efforts strongly align  with county and global sustainability initiatives - direct enhancements to our residents' quality of life. 
 
The proposed 2016 Westchester County budget cuts Greenburgh Nature Center funding by 100% or $50,000.  As a community nature center, this is a deficit that will force us to dramatically reduce our programs and services.
 
Here is how we need your help:  Please take a minute to ask your County officials to support Greenburgh Nature Center.   You can email local legislators following steps 1-3, listed below.   If you have the time to make a phone call, please also see step 4. 
 
Want to do more? Please attend these public hearings and voice your opinion in person:

 

  • 11/24 at 7pm - Horace Greeley High School. 70 Roaring Brook Rd.  Chappaqua
  • 12/9 at 7pm - Board of Legislators Chamber. 148 Martine Ave - 8th Fl.  White Plains
On behalf of the Greenburgh Nature Center Board of Directors and staff, thank you for your support of our mission.
 
Send a message to county government following these steps:
  • Step 1 -  Copy and paste these email addresses into your email browser. 
testa@westchesterlegislators.com
tab2@westchestergov.com 
smith@westchesterlegislators.com
gelfarb@westchesterlegislators.com
marcotte@westchesterlegislators.com
maisano@westchesterlegislators.com
spreckman@westchesterlegislators.com
burrows@westchesterlegislators.com
Kaplowitz@westchesterlegislators.com
Boykin@westchesterlegislators.com     
Parker@westchesterlegislators.com
Williams@westchesterlegislators.com
Borgia@westchesterlegislators.com
Marcotte@westchesterlegislators.com
mjshimsky@verizon.net
Jenkins@westchesterlegislators.com
Perez@westchesterlegislators.com
info@robastorino.com 
info@greenburghnaturecenter.org
 
  • Step 2 - Copy and paste "Restore funding to Greenburgh Nature Center" into your subject line.  Then copy and paste the message below.  
Dear Legislator,
 
I am writing to ask you to support a full appropriation of $50,000 for Greenburgh Nature Center for 2016. 
 
Greenburgh Nature Center has been a leader in environmental education for 40 years, providing innovative courses that teach individuals and families how to appreciate and support their environment.  The facility presents special programs and events that serve a wide and varied audience and offers forever homes to over 100 injured or neglected animals.
 
I feel strongly that the Nature Center's work is paramount to our County's future and I urge you to restore its funding. 
 
Thank you for your support.
(Your name and business name here)
  • Step 3 - Add your personal thoughts - or simply hit send. 
  • Step 4 - Call County Executive Rob Astorino at (914) 995-2127, Legislator Benjamin Boykin at (914) 995-2827 and County Legislator MaryJane Shimsky at (914) 995-2821.  Share your thoughts on how important it is to fund Greenburgh Nature Center.  Please leave voicemails if they are not available to answer the phone. 
We are deeply grateful for your support.

©2017 Town of Greenburgh
View Full Website